Battery Point, built to house the workers and merchants of the port, is on the hill behind Salamanca Place. Its compact size and village atmosphere make it a perfect place to explore on foot.
At the end of Kelly Street, historic Kelly’s Steps connect Salamanca Place to Battery Point. They were built in 1839 by Captain James Kelly, an adventurer who made a comfortable living from sealing and whaling. Kelly’s good fortune was short-lived, however, and by 1842 he was bankrupt and destitute following the death of his wife and seven of his children. After a run-in with the law over another man’s wife, he died at age 67.
Exploring Arthurs Circus, just off Hampden Road at the top of Runnymede Street, is like walking into an intact Georgian streetscape – so be sure to bring your camera. The 16 cottages were built around a circular village green between 1847 and 1852, and they are still private residences today.
Hampden Road begins at a cluster of antique shops near Sandy Bay Road and heads downhill to Castray Esplanade, which winds through the heart of Battery Point.
One of the earliest grand houses in Battery Point is Narryna Heritage Museum, built in 1836 by one of Hobart’s early sea captains and now set up as a heritage museum. Visitors can wander through the house and see how a comfortable life would have been lived in early Hobart. The kitchen is especially worth a look. 103 Hampden Rd; (03) 6234 2791; open 10.30am–5pm Mon–Fri, 12.30–5pm Sat–Sun in summer, 10.30am–5pm Tues–Fri, 2–5pm Sat–Sun in winter.
A few streets away, at the top end of Trumpeter Street is the Shipwright’s Arms Hotel which has traded under this name since 1846. The front bar has a distinctive nautical atmosphere with every inch of wall space covered with photographs of vessels that have sailed on the River Derwent. A few doors down the hill, across Napoleon Street, are Mr Watson’s Cottages, a row of simple Georgian brick dwellings built in 1850. Behind are the boat building slip yards that date back to the 1830s.