The ‘eastern shore’, as it is locally known, is a residential area spreading along the River Derwent south to the beachside suburbs of Howrah, Rokeby and Lauderdale. It is reached by travelling over the arching Tasman Bridge.
Bellerive was settled in the 1820s. Today it’s a quiet suburban village overlooking the river, bordered by a marina to the north and sandy beaches to the south. Back in 1885, in a nervous response to reported sightings of Russian ships in the Derwent, a military fort was built on Kangaroo Bluff. Its guns were never fired, but can still be seen today mounted over a network of tunnels and bunkers. (03) 6248 4053; open daily; admission free.
Bellerive’s best-known landmark is the Bellerive Oval, home to the Tasmanian Cricket Museum and Max Atwell Memorial Library. This picturesque oval hosts Tests and one-day matches, and is the home ground of the state cricket team – the Tasmanian Tigers – and the site of their 2007 inaugural Pura Cup victory. Derwent St, Bellerive; tour bookings (03) 6282 0433; museum open 10am–3pm Tues–Thurs, 10am–12pm Fri; oval tours 10am Tues, or by arrangement.