Somercotes offers what many come to Tasmania seeking – to be immersed in the history of the island. Guests stay in the original free-settlers’ cottages, where brick-making machinery used by ticket-of-leave convicts and the crumbling remains of a Christian boys school can still be seen in the surrounding outhouses and grounds. Iron grills and high sandstone walls topped with spikes protected the 1823 house from bushrangers, but a bullet remains embedded in the courtyard door frame and the dent of rifle barrels is evident on another. The four historic self-contained cottages offer fireside comfort with breakfast provisions supplied, and dinner can be organised if desired.

Contact information

Mona Vale Rd; (03) 6381 5231


comments powered by Disqus