Old Mill

This picturesque whitewashed windmill at the southern end of the Narrows Bridge is one of the earliest buildings in the Swan River Colony – the foundation stone was laid by Captain James Stirling, the first governor, in 1835. The mill, the adjacent miller’s cottage and the recently established Education Centre review the development of flour milling in the early days of the colony. Coloured lights turn the huge Norfolk Island pine next to the Old Mill into a giant Christmas tree every December, making a festive display in the summer night sky. Mill Point Rd, South Perth; (08) 9367 5788; open 10am–4pm Tues–Fri, 14pm SatSun.

comments powered by Disqus